MEDICARE PART B/D
REIMBURSEMENT
NEW PROCESS FOR 2019

All documents to support your Medicare Reimbursement should be sent to UHC Benefit Services, not the Office of the State Comptroller



What's New?

  • The State of Connecticut has contracted with UnitedHealthcare Benefit Services to collect all documents to support your 2019 Medicare Part B/D Reimbursements.
  • Your monthly Medicare Part B/D reimbursements will continue to be included in your monthly pension checks from the State of Connecticut.

2019 Standard Base Medicare Part B Premium Rate

The 2019 base Medicare Part B premium will be $135.50. Effective January 1, 2019, retirees and/or eligible dependents currently receiving Medicare reimbursement will begin receiving this amount each month.

What Do You Need To Do?

  • If you are already receiving reimbursement in your monthly State of Connecticut pension check and receive notice that your monthly Medicare premium will be $135.50 in 2019 you do not need to submit anything! Your pension check will automatically be updated to receive this reimbursement rate.
  • If you are notified by Medicare or Social Security that you will pay a rate other than $135.50, either more or less, send your annual notice of Medicare Part B/D premiums to UHC Benefit Services. (See the reverse for contact information). DO NOT send it to the Office of the State Comptroller.
  • To ensure timely processing, please include your Employee ID (noted above) and the retiree’s name on your submitted documents.
  • If you were reimbursed Medicare premiums in 2018 you do not need to send another copy of your Medicare card.
  • Any inquiries about the receipt of your submitted documents should be made to UHC Benefit Services. Do not call the Office of the State Comptroller.
  • Deadline to submit: Postmarked or Emailed by February 28, 2019.

If You Are Not Currently Receiving Reimbursement?

  • All Medicare-eligible retirees and qualified dependents not receiving reimbursement from another source are eligible for reimbursement of monthly Medicare Part B/D premiums, less any late enrollment penalty fees.
  • If you, or your eligible spouse, are not currently receiving reimbursement for your Medicare Part B/D premiums, please submit a copy of your red, white and blue Medicare card along with your 2019 Medicare premium notice to UHC Benefit Services.

Why Might You Be Charged A Different Rate?

  • If your Medicare premiums are something other than $135.50 per month for 2019 it may be due to:
    • You have higher annual earnings; your Medicare premium will include Income Related Monthly Adjustment Amount (IRMAA). You will also be charged (and reimbursed) for Part D prescription premiums.
    • Your premium may be less than $135.50 due to the “hold harmless” provision that limits Medicare premiums if the increase would exceed the amount of the member’s cost of living adjustment from Social Security. Please note if it is determined mid-year that your rate is less than $135.50 any amounts over refunded will be recovered by the State of CT.

IMPORTANT NOTE

If you miss the February 28th deadline, your monthly Medicare reimbursement will be $135.50. Medicare premium increase notices received by UnitedHealthcare Benefit Services after the February 28th deadline will only be applied to future pension checks. Due to the high volume of requests please allow 60 days for your reimbursement request to be processed.

Important Medicare Part D Coverage Reminder

The Connecticut State Retiree Health Plan provides Medicare Part D prescription drug coverage through UnitedHealthcare® as part of the UnitedHealthcare® Group Medicare Advantage (PPO) plan. DO NOT enroll in any other individual Medicare Part D or Medicare Advantage plan. If you do, your State of Connecticut medical and prescription drug coverage may be terminated.

New for 2019:

All documents for Medicare Reimbursement should be mailed or emailed to UHC Benefit Services by February 28, 2019:

Send a copy of your Medicare card and/or Medicare premium notice to:

Email: DirectBill_KYOperations@uhc.com

Or if you would prefer to mail your copy:
UnitedHealthcare Benefit Services
PO Box 740221
Atlanta, GA 30374-0021

Any inquiries about the receipt of your submitted documents should be made to UHC Benefit Services:

(866) 747-0048, 8 a.m. – 8:00 p.m. EST, Monday - Friday

DEADLINE: Postmarked or Emailed by February 28, 2019