MEMORANDUM NO. 99-9
March 17, 1999
TO THE HEADS OF ALL STATE AGENCIES
||Chief Administrative and Fiscal Officers, Business Managers, and Payroll and Personnel
||Calculation of the Taxable Benefit of the Non-Business Use of State-Provided
Vehicles, Calendar Year 1999
I.PURPOSE: When a state employee commutes in or uses a
state vehicle for personal business, certain tax consequences result. The Internal Revenue
Service views the personal use as a taxable benefit to the employee and has established
guidelines on how to determine how much the dollar value of that benefit would be.
This memorandum is being issued to:
- notify agency heads and employees on methods to use in valuing the taxable benefit
derived from non-business use of state-provided vehicles.
- advise agencies and employees of the standard mileage rate and the rate used in the
lease value method; and
- advise agencies and employees of no change in the definition of control employee (yearly
II. AUTHORITY: Effective January 1, 1986, Federal Public Law 99-44 mandates
that an employee's personal use of an employer-owned or leased vehicle must be
reported to the Internal Revenue Service as taxable income. "Personal use" is
defined as any non-business, including commuting from an employee's home to his or
For the purposes of these regulations, the term "vehicle" means "any
motorized wheeled vehicle manufactured primarily for use on public streets, roads, and
highways", and generally includes automobiles. Except for certain exceptions as set
forth later in this memorandum, all State of Connecticut employees will be subject to
taxation on any State vehicle use which is not documented as business use. State agencies
will be responsible for implementing the applicable reporting requirements.
The following IRS requirements and other guidelines are set forth to assist agencies in
determining those employees whose use of State vehicles is deemed taxable and in reporting
the dollar value, by employee, of such benefits.
III. STATE'S VEHICLE USE POLICY: As stated by the three branches of government, the policy of the State of Connecticut basically prohibits personal use of
State owned/leased vehicles except for home-to-worksite travel as required by the
employer. Under the State of Connecticut's written policy, no employee may use the
vehicle for personal purposes other than de minimis use (e.g., a stop for lunch between
two business appointments or deliveries). Refer to DAS General Letter No. 115 dated
IV. VALUATION METHODS: The following methods are to be used in valuing the
- Commuting Value Method - for use by a non-control employee only (defined in
Personal commutation to work is valued at a daily commuting rate of $1.50 for each
one-way trip or ($3.00 round trip).
- Lease Value Method - A monthly rate of $193.00 per 30-day month plus
5.5 cents per mile for gasoline is assessed; or a per diem rate of $25.76.
NOTE: If the vehicle is used more than seven days in a month, it is advantageous
to use the monthly rate rather than the per diem rate.
- Vehicle Cents-per-Mile - Personal miles are valued at 32.5 cents per mile. If
the employer does not supply gasoline, the rate is reduced by 5.5 cents, to 27 cents per
mile. Effective April 1, 1999, personal miles will be valued at 31 cents per mile.
If the employer does not supply gasoline, the rate is reduced by 5.5 cents to 25.5 cents
NOTE: Special rules may apply when using each of these methods. Once one
of the valuation methods is elected, the employee must use it for all subsequent years
unless the qualification rules are not met.
V. CALCULATION OF THE TAXABLE BENEFIT: To calculate the value of his or
her commuting or personal miles an employee would:
- Select the Appropriate Method
Control employees can choose only the lease value or the cents-per-mile methods for
calculation of the taxable benefit.
A control employee is defined as:
- an elected official; or
- an employee whose annual compensation will equal or exceed $110,700 in 1999; or
- an employee who is allowed to use a State-owned vehicle for non-business use in addition
to home-to-office travel (Special State of Connecticut definition).
All other employees must use the commuting value method.
- Perform the Calculation
Example 1: Commuting Value Method (used by all non-control employees)
The employee commuted round trips to work for 60 days during the reporting quarter.
The rate of $3.00/day is multiplied by 60 days = $180.00.
Example 2: Control employee using lease value or cents-per-mile
The employee has been assigned a state vehicle for the first time. She commutes
to work 20 miles round trip for 60 days in the quarterly reporting period. She may choose
one method of valuing the use of the vehicle. A comparison of the methods follows:
|$193/month for 3 months
||= $ 579.00
|20 miles/day at 5.5 cents/mile
|multiplied by 60 days
||= $ 66.00
|TOTAL QUARTERLY AMOUNT
|20 miles/day at 32.5 cents/mile by 60 days
|TOTAL QUARTERLY AMOUNT
In this example the cents-per-mile method is the least costly. However, once a method
is selected, the employee must continue with that method despite any changes in his or her
- Net Out Any Reimbursement Amount
Net out any amount that has been paid to the state as reimbursement for personal use
(If the amount paid the state exceeds the taxable benefit for the tax year, the benefit
equals zero. Credit amounts cannot be carried forward).
In example 1 above, the employee does not reimburse the state for the commuting use of
the vehicle. Therefore, a value of $180.00 will be added to the employee's reported
In example 2 above, if the employee reimbursed the state for Home-to-Office travel, at
a rate of 2.50 per day for 60 days which equals $150.00, the net reportable benefit is
$240.00 ($390.00 - 150.00).
The Commissioner of the Department of Administrative Services (DAS) issues a memorandum
concerning the rates for the reimbursement of Home-to-Office travel. Not all employees are
required to reimburse the state. Questions concerning State reimbursement should be
addressed to DAS.
VI. EXCEPTIONS (Applicable to Eligible Control and Non-Control Employees)
The following categories of vehicle use are not presently subject to taxation:
- Qualified Non-Personal Use Vehicles
The term "qualified non-personal use vehicle" is applied to any vehicle
that, because of its nature, is not likely to be used more than a very limited (i.e., de
minimis) amount for personal purposes.
Refer to Attachment "A" for a listing of "qualified non-personal use
vehicles" that fall within this exception, with explanatory information concerning
the exception requirements for vans and trucks and the narrowly-defined requirements for
"law enforcement officer".
- Overnight Parking ("Garaging") of Vehicle at Approved State-Owned or Leased
Taxation will not apply if an employee uses an approved State-owned or leased
facility for the overnight "garaging" of an assigned State vehicle even though
such facility was some distance from the employee's worksite and possibly close to
his or her home. However, this exception is qualified by three stipulations: (a) a vehicle
usage and parking location must make "good business sense" to the employer;
(b) overnight parking location must be approved by the employer; and (c) if the driver
transports one or more passengers from their home(s) to worksite, such passengers are
subject to taxation on the derived benefits.
- De Minimis Use of Vehicle
According to Section 1.132-6 of the IRS Regulations, the term 'de minimis
fringe' means any property or service the value of which is (after taking into
account the frequency with which similar fringes are provided by the employer to the
employer's employees) so small as to make accounting for it unreasonable or
The regulations give as an example of a fringe benefit that is not excludable from
gross income: the commuting use of an employer-provided automobile more than one day a
month. The regulations also say that "the fact that the commuting use of an
employer-provided vehicle more than one day a month is an example of a benefit not
excludable as a de minimis fringe does not mean that the commuting use of a vehicle up to
12 times per year is excludable from gross income as de minimis fringe."
VII. REPORTING REQUIREMENTS
Vehicle Usage Fringe Benefit Computation Records
- The Vehicle Usage Fringe Benefit Computation Records are:
Computation Record for Lease Value Method (Form CO-961);
Computation Record for Cents-Per-Mile Method (Form CO-960);
Computation Record for Special Commuting Rate (Form CO-959).
These forms are now available through Vanguard at 1-800-369-0570. Agency needs will
vary depending upon the agency's election of methods for control employees.
- From the information reported on the Monthly Usage Report (Form CCP-40), the agency will
then post data as needed, from the Usage Report to the Employee's Computation Record.
- Follow instructions on the Computation Record to calculate the monthly value of the
- Submit the required paperwork to his or her business office for inclusion in a payroll
- Retain the Computation Record and the documenting CCP-40 for the later of (a) three
years or (b) until examination by the Auditors of Public Accounts.
VIII. AGENCY RESPONSIBILITY: Agencies are to notify concerned employees of
the preceding requirements and the definition of control employee, lease value rate, and
cents-per-mile valuation rate.
Agencies must continue to maintain the records necessary to properly determine and
report on the dollar value of the vehicle use benefit for the period November 1, 1998
through October 31, 1999.
Questions may be directed as follows:
Computation and Benefits: Policy Services Division, 860-702-3440;
Payroll Procedures: Payroll Services Division, 860-702-3463;
Reimbursement Requirements: DAS, Director of State Fleet Operations, 566-5940.
Qualified Non-Personal Use Vehicles
A qualified non-personal use vehicle is any vehicle an employee is not likely to use
more than minimally for personal purposes because of its design.
Examples of qualified non-personal use vehicles are:
- clearly marked police and fire vehicles, but personal use other than commuting must be
prohibited by the employer,
- unmarked vehicles used by law enforcement officers (explained later) if the use is
officially authorized, but the personal use must be necessary to help enforce the law
(such as being able to report directly from home to an emergency or a stakeout site),
- an ambulance or hearse used for its specific purpose,
- any vehicle designed to carry cargo with a loaded gross vehicle weight more than 14,000
- delivery trucks with seating for the driver only, or driver plus a folding jump seat,
- a passenger bus with a capacity of at least 20 passengers used for its specific purpose,
- school buses,
- tractors and other special purpose farm vehicles.
Vans and Pickup Trucks
A van or a pickup truck is not a qualified non-personal use vehicle unless it has been
specially modified so it is not likely to be used more than minimally for personal
purposes. The Internal Revenue Service provides the following guidelines a van or pickup
truck can meet to be a qualified non-personal use vehicle.
A van with a loaded gross vehicle weight not over 14,000 pounds qualifies if it is
clearly marked with permanently affixed decals, special printing or other advertising
associated with the employer's trade, business or function. The van must have a seat
for the driver only or the driver and one other person, and either:
- Permanent shelving that fills most of the cargo area; or
- The cargo area is open and the van always carries merchandise, material, or equipment
used in the employer's trade, business or function.
A pickup truck with a loaded gross vehicle weight not over 14,000 pounds qualifies if
it is clearly marked with permanently affixed decals, special painting or other
advertising associated with the employer's trade, business or function. The pickup
truck must be either:
- Equipped with at least one of the following:
- Hydraulic lift gate;
- Permanent tanks or drums;
- Permanent side boards or panels that materially raise the level of the sides of the
truck bed; or
- Other heavy equipment (such as an electric generator, welder, boom, or crane used to tow
- Used primarily to transport a particular type of load (other than over the public
highways) in a construction, manufacturing, processing, farming, mining, drilling,
timbering or other similar operation for which it was specially designed or significantly
Law Enforcement Officer
In order for an unmarked police vehicle to be classified as qualified nonpersonal use
vehicle, it must be used by a law enforcement officer.
A law enforcement officer is an individual who is a full-time employee of a
governmental unit that is responsible for the prevention or investigation of crime. In
addition, the employee must be authorized by law to carry firearms, execute search
warrants and make arrests. The employee must regularly carry firearms except when working
An arson investigator may be considered a law enforcement officer if the investigator
meets the requirements.
Back to Comptroller's Home Page
Back to Index of Comptroller's Memoranda