
State of Connecticut

CT Partnership Plan — Overview
Public Act 11-58 opens the CT State Employee Health Benefits Plan  
to non-state government employers.

Partners for a 
	 Healthy Connecticut

Name: CT Partnership Plan

Governance: CT Comptroller’s Office with approval  
from the Health Care Cost Containment Committee

Effective Date: July 1, 2012 for Municipalities and BOE’s 

Benefits offered: State Preferred Plan with  
Point of Service (POS) national network

Carrier Choice: The medical, dental and vision  
carrier is UnitedHealthcare; the pharmacy benefit  
is administered by CVS Caremark

Rate Stability: Renewal rate = State Plan % change +/- 3%

Initial Group Rate:
New Rate = Projected claims 

	 -	 current risk charge 	 Calculated by Milliman Consulting
	 - 	 current administration costs
	 +/- 	adjust for state benefits	 Over 50 non-state groups tested had lower rates with the 
	 + 	 state administration costs	 CT Partnership Plan; 30% had rate reductions greater than 5%
	 + 	 3.5% rate stabilization reserve 

Health Enhancement Program (HEP) 
•	 12 month phase-in 
•	Members have 12 months to obtain physical exams and required screenings

Commitment: 2 year minimum
If a group leaves after two years AND has negative claim experience, the group could have  
an exit penalty of:

•	After two years:	 5% of last year’s premiums
•	After three years:	3% 
•	After four years:	 2%
•	After five years:	 0%

Self Funded groups: May incur “run-in” claims and pay “run out” upon termination  

Retirees: Option to move to the state plan  

Other options: Two dental plans (with optional orthodontia) and one vision rider option

For more information contact the Office of the State Comptroller, Healthcare Analysis Unit  
at 860-702-3560 or by email at PartnershipPlan@po.state.ct.us.


