COMPTROLLER'S SEAL STATE OF CONNECTICUT

STATE OF CONNECTICUT

NANCY WYMAN
COMPTROLLER

OFFICE OF THE STATE COMPTROLLER
55 ELM STREET
HARTFORD, CONNECTICUT 06106-1775

MARK OJAKIAN
DEPUTY COMPTROLLER

MEMORANDUM NO. 2001-46

August 14, 2001

TO THE HEADS OF ALL STATE AGENCIES

Attention: Chief Administrative and Fiscal Officers, Business Managers, and Payroll and Personnel Officers
Subject: Dues/Fees for Maintenance and Service (NP-2) Employee Information

I. AUTHORITY

In accordance with Article 6 of the Maintenance and Service (NP-2) Bargaining Unit Contract, a Stipulated Agreement reached in 1994 with the Connecticut Employees Union Independent, Comptroller Memoranda 97-42 and 2000-12, OLR General Notice 2000-04, OLR General Notice 2001-08, and an arbitrated decision of March 20, 2001.

II. DUES/FEES SCHEDULE

The dues/fees schedule is not changing at this time. However, with the recent approval by the Legislature on July 23, 2001 of the NP-2 arbitrated award, the hourly rates of the NP-2 employees will be changed, and the dues/fees deductions must be changed to reflect the increased hourly rates.
 
The amount of biweekly deduction for dues/fees for full-time NP-2 employees is equal to one hour of pay with a minimum of $12.50 and a maximum of $17.00. The amount of deduction for dues/fees for part-time NP-2 employees is equal to one-half hour of pay with a minimum of $6.25 and a maximum of $8.50. The following shows the deduction rates and the MSA Table numbers:
 
Status Employee's Dues/Fees MSA Table
Hourly Rate Deductions Number
Full-time $12.50 or less $12.50 Table 961
Full-time $12.51 to $16.99 one hour's wage No Table Number
Full-time $17.00 or over $17.00 Table 971
Part-time $12.50 or less $6.25 Table 962
Part-time $12.51 to $16.99 one-half hour's wage No Table Number
Part-time $17.00 or over $8.50 Table 972
 
The MSA Sort Code is 00971 for NP-2 bargaining unit dues/fees deductions. The Connecticut State Universities should continue using the Sort Codes of 02061 and 02602 for NP-2 bargaining unit dues/fees deductions.

III. PAYROLL PROCEDURES

The NP-2 dues/fees structure is based upon an employee's hourly wage. The amount of the deduction must change whenever there is a change in the employee's hourly rate. The MSA system does not compute the employee's dues/fees deduction.
 
Under the NP-2 contract, the deduction of dues and fees is effective the beginning of the first full pay period following initial employment and all employees in NP-2 titles have to pay dues or fees unless they are specifically exempted. Per Article One, Section Two of the NP-2 contract, the Agreement does not apply to nonpermanent employees defined as those who are appointed on a temporary, emergency, or seasonal basis. These employees would not be subject to the dues/fees deductions. Federal Grant Participants, employees appointed originally on a provisional basis and employees in the initial working test period are covered by the Agreement and are required to pay dues/fees. Durational employees and seasonal guide employees at the Newgate Prison are also subject to the required deduction of union dues/fees.
 
To ensure correct due/fees amounts are deducted from each employee, it is essential that agency payroll staff review employees' deductions for dues/fees when salary increases take place and the employees' salary falls into a new deduction bracket. This applies to new hires, promotions, annual increments, and general wage increases.

IV. FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

When an employee is on Workers Compensation or Unpaid Leave, are Dues/Fees collected for the time the employee is not on the payroll?
 
No. If the employee does not receive any wages during the pay period, there are no dues/fees to be collected.
 
When an employee works overtime, does this change the Dues/Fees collected from the employee's paycheck?
 
No. Since the NP-2 dues/fees structure is based upon an employee's hourly wage, the employee does not pay a higher rate if he/she receives overtime pay in that pay period.
 
When should agency payroll make a change in an employee's dues/fees deduction?
 
An employee's dues/fees deduction is changed whenever there is a change in an employee's hourly rate.
 
If an employee who was dismissed is later reinstated with full back pay for some or all of the period, should union dues/fees be deducted from the back pay amount?
 
Yes. If an employee is reinstated with back pay for a certain period, then dues/fees should be deducted based upon the employee's hourly rate and the number of pay periods for which back pay was granted.
 
Does the rate for due/fees change because an employee has a differential or any other pay supplement?
 
No. The dues/fees rate is changed only when there is a change in the employee's hourly rate.

V. GENERAL

Please direct all questions or requests for assistance regarding payroll procedures to the Comptroller's Payroll Services Division at (860) 702-3463.
 
All questions for memorandum interpretations should be directed to the Comptroller's Policy Services Divisions at (860) 702-3436.

NANCY WYMAN
STATE COMPTROLLER

NW:ED

Return to Index of 2001 Comptroller's Memoranda
Return to Index of Comptroller's Memoranda
Return to Comptroller's Home Page